Skydiving with vertigo – Sibson, Peterborough, Cambridgeshire

I initially purchased a tandem skydive voucher for Jonathan as our 10 year anniversary present but after a little encouragement from friends, I decided to take a leap of faith and jump with him. After buying the skydive vouchers through Virgin’s Experience Days, we booked the jump for July this year at Sibson in Peterborough, Cambs.

I have vertigo and have suffered with terrible inner ear problems which has often resulted in dizzy spells and a fear of heights. Thus, I was a little apprehensive. We had to wait 5 hours to jump due to the weather which only made me even more anxious.

After the short induction where the instructor went through important safety procedures, I knew it would be safe. You see, there is an electronic device or something of the sort, that would ensure a spare parachute automatically opens should the need arise.

Dressed in the ultra glamorous jumpsuit we had to sit on standby and wait for an opening in the clouds. The rain was pouring, there was instant coffee, bacon sandwiches and nervous laughs filling this small portacabin cafe.

Five hours later we sat on the plane and we were on our way. I can’t even tell you how I felt at this point, I think it was a combination of excitement, confusion (why on earth was I about to jump into the sky) and sheer fear. To manage the adrenaline and anxiety I literally spent 10 minutes on the flight meditating – trying to not appear rude when people asked if I was scared. A little tip, don’t ask someone if they are scared when they are moments from jumping from a plane!

Skydive Sibson Peterborough Images Photos Skydiving with vertigo

My ears popped and I screamed the whole way through free fall but as soon as the parachute opens there is a sense of stillness. I tried to take it all in as I knew we would be landing in only a few moments but ended up talking to my instructor about working in events… Skydive Sibson airfield Peterborough Tandem Skydiving vertigo It was the most exhilarating, exciting, crazy experience of my life and I am so happy I faced my fear. I definitely would never have jumped if Jonathan wasn’t there so it was so incredibly special that we experienced it together.
Skydive Sibson Airfield Peterborough Cambridgeshire Tandem

I picked the skydive as Jonathan’s anniversary present as I thought it was the only thing crazier than being with me for 10 years. It was the perfect present.  Tandem Skydive Photo Sibson Airfield Peterborough Cambridgeshire England UK

Another item ticked off my bucket list.

Leave a Reply

